Act of Kindness

Photo on 3-28-17 at 5.19 PM #3

I’m exhausted.  Since the election in November I have seen many changes in my work environment as well as my friend circle.  My community is worried, stressed out, worn out from doing their 9 to 5 jobs and then going straight to working towards social justice until late hours of the night.  There is so much work to be done every day in every community and how are we supposed to continue this important work when we are burnt out?

I know I am not alone when I say that I am tired of having this feeling that every day when I look at my phone there will be a new headline stating that a new program has been defunded, that another white supremacist is put in a high ranking position of government, that people will be loosing their healthcare, and that we are ignoring science and pretending that we aren’t destroying our environment.

Today I was feeling down and tired and sick of everything.  As I was lazing about my house in my grungy gym sweats, sweating out the pizza and whiskey I consumed last night, there was knock on my door.  My natural response to someone unexpectedly knocking on my door is to ignore it because I overthink interactions with strangers who could possibly be trying to sell me something.  Anyway, the knocking continued though and to my surprise when I opened the door there was a child standing on my porch.  This little dude was helping his neighbors tidy up their garden, and took some of the flowers to give out to the neighborhood.  It was gesture of kindness that warmed my heart and made me step back to think about how little kind acts can make a big difference in someone’s day.

This post may be a quickly written account of my current feelings and jumbled thoughts, but I hope to pass the act of kindness on to another tomorrow, and I hope that you all are taking care of yourself and treating yourselves with kindness.  It is easy to forget that even with our busy schedules and that in this political environment, we need to care for ourselves.  I know tonight I’ll be admiring my new flowers and having a mini face mask fiesta.

If you haven’t already, please contribute what you can to the ACLU  and other organizations that are focused on defending our rights.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

